grade students at H.B. Emery Jr. School in Limington have been studying
the history of Limington. To culminate their work the third grade made a
mural of the historical places in Limington that they visited and
first stop was the Pine Hill Cemetery. The students were given the task
of locating gravestones with names of some of the early settlers.
the class went to the Octagon House. The students were fascinated by
this unique structure which was built in 1862 as a home.
students worked with Mrs. Laurie Downey while others worked with Mrs.
Charlotte Fullam, two of the artists who helped with the Artists in
Maine Communities grant.
The third grade saw the original Limington library, recently moved to the Historical Society and restored.
The classes visited the Limington Historical Society. There the students saw the blacksmith shop.
grade teacher Beth Komulainen organized the historical studies. To
culminate the project the students made a mural of historical Limington
places and wrote this overview:
A Story of Limington
Village wasn’t very big when H. B. Emery, Jr. and Virginia (Sawyer)
Brackett were friends. They went to school together from First Grade
until they graduated from The Limington Academy in 1941. When they went
to the Longfellow School, there was only one teacher and one classroom
for grades 1 through 8. The Limington Gym is where kids had gym class.
Virginia lived with her uncle, Dr. Ilsley. Harold could stand on his
porch yell across the street to Virginia and she would yell back to him.
They would go to dances at the Town Hall. Down the road from the corner
was Brackett’s Apple Orchard. Sometimes they went swimming at the
Limington Rips. Down the river from the Rips is the Octagon House, built
during the Civil War.